Reviews

9.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.7
Property location
9.5
Facilities
9.6
Staff
9.8
Value
8.7

Reviews

    Aleksandra
    se

    Review score

    10
    24 September 2018

    Hardly recommending, great location, great hosts and is truly Japanese.

    I liked everything. I had shared bathroom which worked very well as there are only few rooms in the hotel. They made sure we all have time in a day for showering etc. The toilet as everywhere in Japan is an experience on its own. Just amazing!!😉☺️
    Hospitality of owners is just mind blowing. From the first day they were treating me as their home guest, and I felt very welcomed. They were helping me to arrange the trip back to Osaka and provided me with a breakfast box free of charge as I had to leave at 6 am. Japanese breakfast was just amazing, so carefully selected food. Very delicious. Room was big and very clean. Bed was ok. I had two mattresses but if you need you can ask for one more. The owner asked me the first day which option I prefer.
    Albert Bras
    be

    Review score

    10
    9 September 2018
    Nothing
    The personal touch. The quiet and relaxing atmosphere The fantastic breakfast The helpfulness of the owners
    Zorah
    my

    Review score

    9.6
    24 July 2018

    Homely, spotless and delicious breakfasts !

    I didn't mind sharing the bathrooms or showers . It is a great place to stay.
    Sumiko the host was excellent . We had lovely Japanese breakfasts prepared by her for 4 mornings. We felt so much at home . The location is near to Kiyomizu Temple . The house is very clean . Her husband did the cleaning and its spotless !! She treated us like family !
    Jamie Phipps
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    18 May 2018

    Japanese experience

    Super attentive hosts sometimes overly so.
    Authentic Japanese experience.
    Albana
    za

    Review score

    10
    3 April 2018
    Stunning house! We had a wonderful stay. The owner is so friendly and helpful! She made us feel like home!
    Melissa
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    17 November 2017

    relaxing

    Staff is so nice! More of a traditional home stay than a hotel. Great wifi and super comfortable futon beds.
    askhari
    es

    Review score

    10
    23 October 2017

    Just perfect!

    Everything! The traditional rooms were beautiful. The staff helped us lot and looked after every single detail.
    William
    au

    Review score

    10
    23 July 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Michaela
    au

    Review score

    10
    9 June 2017

    A lovely ryokan in Kyoto

    Hosts greated us in the street and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was a lovely experience and the host explained the local food very well. A great place to stay in a kyoto ryokan!
    zongjie
    cn

    Review score

    9.6
    27 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chris
    ie

    Review score

    9.6
    29 April 2017

    Great traditional Kyoto experience

    We booked very late so it was very expensive (it was worth it). A solid 10min walk from main Gion shops at night (loads of busses & offset by proximity to temples).
    Okami-san was the untimate host. We really felt part of the house and they took time to help us make the most of our short stay. Everything from food, maps, suggested itineraries. The room experience was fabulous. We will visit again for sure.
    Anthony
    au

    Review score

    10
    26 April 2017

    Beautiful hosts

    Our hosts at Kamuroan were sensational. My bride and I just loved their warmth, helpfulness and laughter. Kamuroan is ideal for couples, and the traditional tatami rooms are a good size. I can recommend the Japanese breakfast available at a modest cost. The location is very close to Kiyomizu temple, which is great at night, a 10 minute walk to Gion and 15 mins to lots of great restaurants at Pontocho. If you are done strolling, the very athletic Jinrikisha, will get you there in no time! Efficient Kyoto buses are just around the corner, and a day pass, can easily take you to further locations. I hope we can return soon.
    John
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    21 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Harry Wong WW
    hk

    Review score

    9.6
    18 April 2017
    No lock for room, expected for traditional house.
    The host are extremely nice and she is always so helpful. Nice room.
    Jill
    gb

    Review score

    10
    14 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    21 October 2018
    The location is very good.
    Kristen
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    13 September 2018
    Traditional breakfast was amazing. Owners are very friendly.
    Kevin
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    13 May 2018

    Excellent, professional, cozy experience with top-notch local staff and clean, comfortable stay.

    The location is slightly further way from Gion, but it's a bonus that it's right down the street from Kiyomizu-dera temple and the awesome walkway with shops leading to it.
    A consummate lodging experience, our hosts were extremely accommodating, professional, and knowledgeable for what we wanted to accomplish in Kyoto. They brought our luggage in while we got the download on what to do, how, and local tips. As for the ryokan experience, it was what I expected if not more. The beds were surprisingly comfortable, the sleeping garments were fresh, clean, and comfortable, and the breakfast the following morning was delicious and traditional. They were able to keep our luggage after check-out while we were exploring Kyoto and even did a load of laundry for us weary travelers! Overall awesome and would definitely stay again! Such nice people.
    Rodolphe Rance
    fr

    Review score

    9.2
    3 February 2018

    Authentic ryokan

    Small and very friendly authentic ryokan. This is not a luxury place, but a real and amazing ryokan.
    Sofya
    us

    Review score

    10
    23 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews